Making America Great Again – Part One: Shipping up in Boston

My next few posts are going to be a slight departure from the rambling left-wing crap that I know you’ve all grown to adore and crave. As you might have guessed from the title of this piece, I’m going stateside! Why? To witness ‘The Donald’ become elected as the forty-fifth President of the United States, of course.

Truth be told, I intended to write this piece over a week ago, but such is life, and as I’m currently writing this from the plane, I’m going to try and keep it brief.

First up on our tour is Massachusetts. Then we move onto NYC, DC and Virginia.  I’m hoping to post at least a couple of times during the two-week trip to keep everyone who is interested (so nobody, other than my mother and Alex) updated on what we’ve been up to.

If you’ve spoken to me about this trip in person, you’ll know that I’m extremely excited. I’ve loved American politics for as long as I’ve loved politics. Inspired by the works of Sorkin and Kevin Spacey’s critically acclaimed performance as Frank Underwood in House of Cards, my dream to work in Washington DC is still a very young dream, but over the next two weeks I will be getting up close and personal with the 2016 Presidential Election.

Massachusetts will provide me with an opportunity to see a friend from university (Christ, that makes me sound so old), potentially visit the world famous Cape Cod, and to take in the best that Boston has to offer.

This trip will allow me to immerse myself in the 2016 elections, and I’m hoping it will serve as a good barometer as to whether or not I want to pursue a career in American politics. I have a feeling that when we arrive in DC, it will already feel like home.

Leave a Reply

